Skip to main content
Timiskaming District Secondary School
News Item

DSB1 Students Elect New Senate and Student Trustees

May 09, 2019

20189-2020 Student Trustees.jpg

On April 29, 2019, District School Board Ontario North East (DSB1) students elected a new Student Senate to represent them in the 2019-2020 school year. Two representatives from each of our nine secondary schools were elected to the 2019-2020 Senate, with an additional three Indigenous participants appointed. 

At the same gathering, the group of students elected two Student Trustees and one Indigenous Student Trustee to represent them at the board table next year.  A motion was passed at the May 7th board meeting to support the results of the selection process.

We are pleased to welcome Ryan Dailey from Timmins High and Vocational School, Ethan Hurtubise from Timiskaming District Secondary School and Kaytlyn Julien (Indigenous Trustee) from Kirkland Lake District Composite School as our Student Trustees for the 2019-2020 school year.

"We are so proud of the leadership of our students across our secondary schools.  They worked hard to organize this gathering and the election of their new representatives for the upcoming school year. The Board of Trustees looks forward to working with them starting in September" said Bob Brush, Board Chair.

The selection process for the Student Trustees was developed to ensure one of the students would play a transitional role by staying on as a Trustee for two consecutive years.  This will provide consistency in our practices and support the new Student Trustees in the following school year.  The selection process also ensured representation from different regions and for our students who identify as Indigenous.

DSB1 would like to thank all 2018-2019 Student Senators as well as our three outgoing Student Trustees: Danielle Beaudoin, Chloe Frank (Indigenous Trustee) and Noble Stow-Gore.   

Click here to read the full media release.