Skip to main content
District School Board Ontario North East
News Item

Rebels Classic

March 08, 2018

​The 6th annual Rebels Classic was held at Roland Michener Secondary School on Tuesday March 6th. The tournament hosted 12 teams of Grade 7 and 8 students from across the North.

Following a day that saw great sportsmanship and a high level of athleticism in both the competitive and recreational divisions, 4 teams made the finals. Ross Beattie lost a close game to O'Gorman Green in the Recreational division and Anicet Morin faced off against Roland Michener for the main prize in the Competitive division.

The Rebels entered the finals off of a clutch win against O'Gorman Black while Anicet paved their way to the finals in comfortable wins through great team play. Anicet Morin started the final match ahead of the Rebels by applying a tough full-court press and opening up a 4 point lead. The Rebels roared back to life quickly equalizing through the post positions lead by Ryker Naletto and Braydon Mairs. Each team proceeded to trade hard earned baskets, though neither ever allowed easy points. Strong defenses were on show. As the final minutes began to expire the Rebels took a last ditch 3 pointer to close the 5 point deficit that ultimately bounced off the inside of the rim. Anicet closed out the game as champions by securing an 18-12 win over the defiant Rebels.

Michener coaches Samantha Chin and Matt Simard are very proud of the team. Having improved on last year's 4th place finish with a clean run to the finals and a 2nd place medal, their program has truly matured. They congratulate the hours of practice, sacrifice and dedication their players have made and are excited to see their Grade 8s transition to an exciting Junior High team and also welcome a promising and hungry group of players for next year's Intermediate team. The Rebels are on the rise and South Porcupine is watching.

 rebels classic 2.jpg

Front row left to right: Nathan Campbell, Gerrit Parnell, Liam Mousseau, Sam Litt, Dominick Desgroseilliers, Carter Armitage, Camron Nycz, Owen Bailey.

Back row left to right: Samantha Chin, Michael Hoven, Ryker Naletto, Braydon Mairs, Brady Bougie, Cameron Lamarche, Matt Simard